Net­works

In the long term, lila.school is to become a network of small learning centers. The indi­vidual centers will remain con­nected by common purpose, but should stay as auto­nomous and agile as pos­sible and the­refore have a maximum size of about 80 stu­dents and 8 learning guides.

In con­junction with this, with the help of our digital learning platform, we also want the course system to become a larger network far beyond the realm of the school. Our aim is to faci­litate lifelong learning and tea­ching for the widest pos­sible audience and to con­tribute to the decen­tra­liz­ation of edu­cation. In this way, a new struc­tural base will be created, from which dif­ferent existing pro­jects and com­mu­nities will be sup­ported, new ones will be made pos­sible, and all of them will be con­nected in a large, common network. A com­mercial model for the use of the platform will also provide a way to cross-finance the learning centers in the long term.

These net­works, in turn, are them­selves part of a global movement of self-directed education.

Liberate learning

Inter­na­tio­nally, many initia­tives are already on the path of self-directed learning. In Austria, there are hardly any such offers, espe­cially for stu­dents of high school age. With lila.school, a learning center is now being created in Vienna that lives and develops this idea and thus also shows that school edu­cation can be adapted to the further deve­lo­pment and current state of society.

We see the libe­ration of learning as an essential key to changing con­sciousness and society. If we humans want to develop our full potential, we must be able to shape our learning indi­vi­dually and freely.

Check out our approach to find out what ideas we’re aligned with. In the learning formats, you will find out how we implement these ideas.

Need for change

Many people feel that the existing edu­cation system is no longer ade­quate. There are many reasons for this.

School edu­cation focuses pre­do­mi­nantly on aca­demic know­ledge transfer and job-related qua­li­fi­cation, neglecting other aspects of being human. Due to a lack of openness to the outside, i.e. the lack of invol­vement of external actors in the edu­ca­tional process, there is little con­nection to “real life”. The low rele­vance of the content to the actual inte­rests and ques­tions of the stu­dents leads to a per­ceived lack of meaning. Fear, frus­tration and a lack of moti­vation on the part of the stu­dents (and tea­chers) are the result; the lack of moti­vation to learn is com­pen­sated for by pressure. The dominant standard is per­for­mance ori­en­tation, not the deve­lo­pment of indi­vidual potential.

A high degree of bureau­cra­tiz­ation and stan­dar­di­z­ation, accom­panied by rigid hier­ar­chies and power struc­tures, makes deep change almost impos­sible, and also entails the sepa­ration of all par­ti­ci­pants (stu­dents, tea­chers, parents, pro­viders, aut­ho­rities). Despite the large financial investment, edu­ca­tional stan­dards are declining.

Ideas and sci­en­tific backing for new ways have been around for a long time, but the changes needed are too pro­found and the existing struc­tures too rigid to be solved by attempts at reform. More and more people the­refore want alter­na­tives to public sector ser­vices. We want to create such an alter­native with lila.school.

Netzwerke

Langfristig soll aus lila.school ein Netzwerk kleiner Lernzentren werden. Die einzelnen Zentren werden durch den gemeinsamen Sinn verbunden bleiben, sollen aber möglichst autonom und agil bleiben und daher eine maximale Größe von etwa 80 Schülern und 8 Lernbegleitern haben.

In Verbindung damit wollen wir mit Hilfe unserer digitalen Lernplattform das Kurssystem, weit über den Bereich der Schule, ebenfalls zu einem größeren Netzwerk werden lassen. Wir möchten damit lebenslanges Lernen und Lehren für ein möglichst breites Publikum ermöglichen und einen Beitrag zur Dezentralisierung der Bildung leisten. So soll eine neue strukturelle Basis entstehen, um unterschiedliche bestehende Projekte und Gemeinschaften zu unterstützen, neue zu ermöglichen und alle in einem großen, gemeinsamen Netzwerk zu verbinden. Mit einem kommerziellen Modell für die Nutzung der Plattform soll langfristig auch eine Möglichkeit zur Querfinanzierung der Lernzentren entstehen.

Diese Netzwerke sind wiederum selbst Teil einer globalen Bewegung der selbstbestimmten Bildung.

Lernen Befreien

International sind viele Initiativen bereits auf dem Weg des selbstbestimmten Lernens. In Österreich gibt es, vor allem für Schüler im Oberstufenalter, kaum solche Angebote. Mit der lila.school entsteht nun in Wien ein Lernzentrum, das diese Idee lebt und weiterentwickelt und damit auch zeigt, dass Schulbildung an die Weiterentwicklung und den aktuellen Stand der Gesellschaft angepasst werden kann.

Wir sehen in der Befreiung des Lernens einen wesentlichen Schlüssel zum Bewusstseins- und Gesellschaftswandel. Wenn wir Menschen unser volles Potential entfalten wollen, müssen wir unser Lernen selbst und frei gestalten können.

Sieh Dir unsere Ausrichtung an, um zu sehen, an welchen Ideen wir uns orientieren, bei den Lernformen erfährst Du, wie wir diese Ideen umsetzen.

Veränderungsbedarf

Viele Menschen empfinden das bestehende Bildungssystem als nicht mehr passend. Die Gründe dafür sind vielfältig.

Schulbildung fokussiert überwiegend akademische Wissensvermittlung und berufsbezogene Qualifizierung und vernachlässigt dabei andere Aspekte des Menschseins. Durch eine fehlende Öffnung nach außen, also keine Einbindung schulexternen Akteure in den Bildungsprozess, gibt es wenig Verbindung zum „echten Leben“. Der geringe Bezug der Inhalte zu tatsächlichen Interessen und Fragen der Schüler führt zu empfundener Sinnlosigkeit. Angst, Frust und fehlende Motivation bei den Schülern (und Lehrern) sind die Folge, die fehlende Lernmotivation wird durch Zwang kompensiert. Der dominante Maßstab ist Leistungsorientierung, nicht individuelle Potentialentfaltung.

Ein Hoher Grad an Bürokratisierung und Standardisierung einhergehend mit starren Hierarchien und Machtstrukturen führt dazu, dass tiefe Veränderungen fast unmöglich werden und außerdem zur Separation aller Teilnehmer (SchülerInnen, LehrerInnen, Eltern, Träger, Behörden). Trotz großem finanziellem Aufwandes sinken die Bildungsstandards.

Ideen und wissenschaftlichen Rückhalt für neue Wege gibt es schon lange, die nötigen Veränderungen sind jedoch zu tiefgehend und die bestehenden Strukturen zu starr, um durch Reformversuche gelöst zu werden. Immer mehr Menschen wünschen sich daher Alternativen zum öffentlichen Angebot. Wir wollen mit lila.school eine solche Alternative schaffen.